6 days to go!

The big day is nearly here! I am feeling a mixture of emotions currently – excited but also a bit terrified and in denial that I am actually going. It doesn’t feel real yet and I don’t think it will until I get off the plane in Bangkok. I am staying in a big hostel popular with backpackers so hopefully I will meet lots of people straight away which will help me to feel a bit more secure.

Since my last post, a few lovely things have happened. Firstly, I am now a CELTA qualified teacher, yippee! Secondly, I have a job in Korea ( provided I submit the 1,000 documents they require from me!). I will be teaching children of various ages, and will hopefully be placed on Jeju island, but if not somewhere else in Korea. So happy that I have a job in place, so I can now enjoy the next 4 months without too much worry.

First stop on my trip is Thailand, and then Laos and so on! I may change my plans at any point depending on who I meet and where they are off to. This will be my first proper break from work and I think it is going to feel really weird not having a purpose other than to wander freely, eat nice food and meet new people! I think it’ll take a few weeks for me to completely relax but I’m sure it won’t be too difficult. I plan to read all the books while I am away, so if anyone has any recommendations please leave a comment! I like most genres, except crime books really. The next book I am going to read is The Alchemist, so I’ll let you know what I think. My next post will be about my first week in Thailand – ahhhhh!

Ps. I had my leaving party last night with family and friends – so thank you to everyone who came to say goodbye and brought me lovely gifts. Will miss you all!!!image

Leave a comment