Day 4 to 8 – Koh Chang

After hectic sweaty Bangkok, Koh Chang was complete paradise. I really got to unwind and also made some amazing new friends. The bar we frequent every night is called Gubay bar, and if you are ever visiting Koh Chang you must go! It is very chilled out and you get to choose the music which is a nice touch. The owner, Sun, is very welcoming and always full of energy! He always made sure we were having fun and looked after all of us. I don’t think I ever saw him pour a drink though, he is very good at persuading his customers to work for him! 

On my second day, Sun organised a motorbike trip for the Gubay gang. You will all be pleased to hear that I did not attempt any motor biking! I was quite happy to sit on the back of Sun’s bike and enjoy the beautiful island scenery and try out my GoPro for the first time. I was told that I would be too slow which is probably true!  We rode round to the other side of the island which is pretty much deserted of tourist at this time of year. It was a long way and at times, there wasn’t even a road which was an experience! We went to a mangrove, ate delicious Thai fruits, went swimming and then finished off on the beach to watch the sunset. It was such a great day and I have become quite attached to the gang. I think this is going to be the first hard goodbye of the trip but certainly not the last. 

I spent the next two days on Koh Chang just relaxing on the beach and then heading to the bar in the evening. It was actually nice to have some sort of routine, and much better than my standard work routine. My days went like this – coconut on the beach, tanning time, swimming time, lunch, another coconut, shower, nap, dinner, bar! Heaven! I also treated myself to a Thai massage – having your back cracked by a tiny little Thai lady is an experience! I’ve definitely got rid of a lot of tension and am in a good state of mind for the rest of the trip. Like any holiday, it always take a little while to relax into it – I think I’m there now!

So Koh Chang has set the bar high for the rest of the trip, although obviously islands are very different to the mainland. I will be spending the next few days exploring temples in Ayutthaya and Sukhothai before heading up North to Chiang Mai! 

Here are some pics of the Gubay gang and a Koh Chang sunset!

Leave a Reply

